Benvenuti / Welcome to
Benvenuti / Welcome to
During the Medieval era the city was an important military stronghold and was protected by defensive town walls, which were built over the top of ancient cyclopean and Roman fortifications. There were several gateways into the town.
The fortification, sometimes known as Rocca Secca or Rocca Traversa, was built in the XI century on the site of an ancient acropolis. It was enlarged over the years and belonged to the Frangipane family. Being situated on high ground its tall tower had commanding views of the surrounding territory.
Unfortunately much of the castle was damaged during Allied bombing raids in WWII and practically all that remains today is the central tower, which has recently undergone renovation.
It is a pleasure to explore the old town on foot, wandering through the narrow streets, discovering items of interest around every corner and generally absorb the old medieval atmosphere.
There are also numerous little shops, bars and restaurants in this area.
Other buildings of architectural interest include the Chiesa e Convento di San Domenico, built in the 13th century, which has a beautiful rose window.
The Chiesa di San Francesco and Convento dei Conventuali, built in a Gothic / Cistercian style, was founded by Saint Francis in 1222. It was later used as a hospital before being badly damaged during bombing raids during the Second World War. All that remains today is the bell tower with a small dome. Above is a painting by Heinrich Jäckel (1876).
The Chiesa dell’Annunziata was also founded in the 13th century. The arch above the door is decorated with a carving depicting plants and animals and is signed by the artist, Antonius De Piperno. Sadly the church is now abandoned.
It is a pleasure to explore the old town on foot, wandering through the narrow streets, discovering items of interest around every corner and generally absorb the old medieval atmosphere. There are also numerous little shops, bars and restaurants in this area.
The Chiesa del Purgatorio was built in the 18th century on the ruins of the Medieval church of San Nicola. It is typically late Baroque in style, with a grand facade decorated with macabre designs in stucco.
Nearby is the ancient Church of San Giovanni. This was originally dedicated to San Lorenzo, however in the 17th century was given its present name and modified in a Baroque style.